the danish outpost
updated when time and inspiration allow. latest and greatest always in the blog.
not your mother's line dance

07.02.2002

feeling kinda how a girl feels

i've been feeling a craving for companionship lately, and have been leaning on my friends a little more than usual. while they've been great, it's still not what i'm looking for. i want one of my own. as in, i want someone to hug me and be there. i don't really want to date, per se, with all that that entails. and i don't want a relationship, exactly. and i don't even want ... personal calisthenics, shall we say. i just miss contact.

i've mentioned this to a couple of friends, half joking that they should dig up a nice single boy for me. mostly, they joke back and agree to give it some thought. but my ex boyfriend managed to floor me with his response.

'you should try 13 stepping.'

i sat there, agape, for a minute, staring across the table at him. he couldn't possibly mean... it must be some line dance i've never heard of, right?

wrong. he actually did mean that i should pick the 12 step program of my choice, go to meetings, and troll for single guys.

gack!

first of all, that's disgusting. it's sort of like saying i should hang out in the ER or my therapist's lobby, fixing my mascara and waiting hopefully. people go to those meetings to deal with issues, not find a date.

second, did i mention i want a nice single guy... with no issues? 13 stepping, in addition to being vaguely morbid, pretty well guarantees some level of baggage. i am so over that. i've been with compulsive liars, drug users, alcoholics, momma's boys, control freaks, cheaters, and the terminally confused. enough. really, i mean it. just - enough.

it's not as if i'm asking for a perfect person, and i know i come with my own issues. but jeez louise! *shakes head* 13 stepping pretty well guarantees that the deck is stacked against you from the start.

plus, i'm superstitious. 13 is a bad number. even if i *did* do that and met someone, it would be jinxed from the outset.

pah. i can't even believe he suggested that with a straight face.

yesterday :: tomorrow

your moment of...
� 2000-2002 by eac. feel free to link to my site; if you do, please drop me a line.
ambience
listening to/watching:
reading:
random:

recently
*tap tap* hellooo?
i think i've been tricked
steely grey days
warm food for cold weather
the appeal of the broken boy

here
newest
older
blog
writing
about me
about them
sign
write
blogroll me
search

nearby
rings
burbs and cliques
links
goodies for you
goodies for me
clix
Technorati Profile

lingua franca

credit
host
gear
Template by: miz Graphics
current batch of pics by: Free Foto
Free JavaScripts provided by The JavaScript Source