the danish outpost
updated when time and inspiration allow. latest and greatest always in the blog.
snippets of my life

29.01.2002

feeling kinda how a girl feels

i'm a little too tired (having done 35 hours straight) to type up a proper entry, so here are a few snippets from my life - the edited version of an IM chat with a friend. i'll tell you entire stories later, but for now, all i can give you is the Cliff Notes version. :)

me: hello!

he: Hey!

he: so how ya been?

me: pretty okay.

me: late night last night... worked a show.

he: ah how'd that go?

me: surprisingly well.

me: sold out show (Alicia Keyes), and no seating problems.

he: impressive

me: very good audience, and a ton of ushers, so we had more than enough coverage.

me: three cleanups (including Spaghetti Girl), but that was it.

he: Spaghetti Girl?

me: her nickname - that was what she chucked.

he: oh heh heh

me: the nice part was, that story had a great ending.

me: got it cleaned up, got Spaghetti Girl moved, so the woman in front of her stopped freaking out.

me: and then i was trying to reseat the couple next to SG.

me: as i'm explaining to them that i can give them jump seats down front - closer to the stage but not as good sight lines - the couple standing next to us jumps in.

me: they said 'well, we're just going to stand thru the whole show (read: drink beer, which you can't do at your seat), so why don't you take our seats?

me: their seats were center section, 20 rows from the stage.

he: serendipitous.

me: shit like that never happens. sort of restores your faith in the human race.

he: or in fate

me: *nod*

me: made me feel pretty good.

he: that's good. love those moments

me: yeah; we all went out for a beer afterwards for the obligatory bitch session, and i got to tell that story, so everyone was happy.

me: brb - kettle is boiling.

he: ok!

me: i have this bad habit of setting the kettle to boil, and then getting on the computer and forgetting, so i set a timer.

he: you're a wise one

me: fear of burning the house down.

he: heh

me: 'did i leave the gas on? no! i'm a fucking squirrel!'

he: ?

me: heh... Eddie Izzard quote.

me: sorry - i tend to channel Eddie.

me: he's talking about that look that squirrels sometimes get, when they pause nibbling on a nut, as if to say... 'did i leave the gas on?'

he: hehheh

me: there's some ad on TV these days where one of they guys says he wants to banish the sound of dial up modems forever.

me: and the first time i heard that, i went 'yeah!'

he: heh

me: someone was actually using a dial up in the office the other day, and i walked around to find out where the noise was coming from.

he: then what did u do?

me: looked very puzzled. we have a T1 line.

me: someone was testing dialup on a laptop.

he: ah heh

me: i procrasinated a lot, so i have a ton of shit to get done today.

me: ow!

me: (bruised my knee the other day, and just whacked it on the desk)

he: yeeeeouch

me: oh yeah. i a fit of overwhelming grace, i missed the last step on the stairs, and sprawled on my face in front of everyone.

he: awww

me: in my defense, the place was dark, and the bottom step was the only one painted black.

he: heh

me: quinn had sent me upstairs to check on something (because he's too indolent to do it himself), so *everyone* was watching for me to come back down.

he: heh

me: no one had warned me i was supposed to be the entertainment for the evening.

he: it's funny but not very nice

me: eh. it wasn't that bad, and makes for a good story.

me: my knees are usually bruised anyway, as i regularly whack into the metal strut under my desk at work.

me: you'd think i'd catch on after a few years...

he: heehee

he: sounds like me.

he: I have a tendency to do the same thing to hurt myself over and over.

me: maybe Pavlov didn't have it quite right.

me: eh. i should probably get started on my projects.

he: possibly a good idea.

me: (do you sense a little reluctance?)

me: so much to do, so few hours...

he: tell me about it

me: don't think i need to.

he: heh

yesterday :: tomorrow

your moment of...
� 2000-2002 by eac. feel free to link to my site; if you do, please drop me a line.
ambience
listening to/watching:
reading:
random:

recently
*tap tap* hellooo?
i think i've been tricked
steely grey days
warm food for cold weather
the appeal of the broken boy

here
newest
older
blog
writing
about me
about them
sign
write
blogroll me
search

nearby
rings
burbs and cliques
links
goodies for you
goodies for me
clix
Technorati Profile

lingua franca

credit
host
gear
Template by: miz Graphics
current batch of pics by: Free Foto
Free JavaScripts provided by The JavaScript Source