the danish outpost
updated when time and inspiration allow. latest and greatest always in the blog.
happy birthday, girl!

2000-09-12

feeling kinda how a girl feels

the starry temple

first things first.

happy birthday to you,
happy birthday to you,
happy birthday, dear ChicaBeanie
happy birthday to you!

send her mad love and hugs, y'all. the woman is fabulous. and you've got a great day for celebrating, hon. enjoy.

you may appreciate the quote i found while trying to hunt down a pretty picture for you, Chica.


The History of Medicine

2000 B.C. - Here, eat this root
1000 A.D. - That root is heathen. Here, say this prayer.
1850 A.D. - That prayer is superstition. Here, drink this potion.
1940 A.D. - That potion is snake oil. Here, swallow this pill.
1985 A.D. - That pill is ineffective. Here, take this antibiotic.
2000 A.D. - That antibiotic doesn't work anymore. Here, eat this root.

dunno where it came from, but there is a certain truth to it, n'est pas?

and this made me laugh:

An aside: Why is the tag for a table cell <td>? Well, there are two schools of thought on the matter. Some say it stands for "table data," and some say the Netscape engineers were on crack.

oh, i'm just a quotin' maniac today... laughed really hard when i found this in the September Esquire mag:

Let me tell you something about spelling. I can spell. I am a spelling fool. I can spell in the morning, I can spell in the evening, and I can spell in the (oh, Lord) midnight hour. There are writers better than me, but there are very few people in this business who can spell with me. Don't bring your sorry no-dipthong-having, English-as-a-first-language, sad-sack, Tom Robbins-sounding, onomatopoeic, Hooked on Phonics ass in here. I got mad spelling game, no doubt.

In my house, we have a computer. This computer has a "spell check" device. It is to fucking laugh, this thing. This spell check device apparently was programmed by lemurs. In my house, I am the spell check. My word is the goddamn law.

How did I get to be the laughing master of man and machine? Four words: Sisters of Saint Joseph.

- Charles P. Pierce

flashback to my childhood, where the only legitimate reason for getting up from the dinner table was to look up a word. and actually, looking things up was not really an *option*, more of an enforced march to the dictionary. i make it sound bad, but it certainly has stood me in good stead, and makes me feel like i could take on his mad spelling game with style.

wish the boys in woburn luck... their day just got chaotic. friday isn't close enough for that kind of stuff, yo.

was a good little dooby last night - washed all the dishes, tidied up around the house, and even tackled most of the ironing. this, after working at the office until about 9:30. i must get good karma points for that, yes? or maybe not, as i just glanced to the left of my keyboard, and realized that i forgot to mention my little soapstone ganesh statue in my altar description yesterday. ChicaBeanie brought him back for me when she travelled to india a few years back, and he's decorated with a string of green mardi gras beads. oooo. gotta bring him a fresh flower tomorrow.

just heard from my honey, and we're meeting up at the usual den of iniquity for a cocktail or two. yay! while they don't have a web cam (that we know of), peek here.

yesterday :: tomorrow

your moment of...
� 2000-2002 by eac. feel free to link to my site; if you do, please drop me a line.
ambience
listening to/watching:
reading:
random:

recently
*tap tap* hellooo?
i think i've been tricked
steely grey days
warm food for cold weather
the appeal of the broken boy

here
newest
older
blog
writing
about me
about them
sign
write
blogroll me
search

nearby
rings
burbs and cliques
links
goodies for you
goodies for me
clix
Technorati Profile

lingua franca

credit
host
gear
Template by: miz Graphics
current batch of pics by: Free Foto
Free JavaScripts provided by The JavaScript Source