the danish outpost
updated when time and inspiration allow. latest and greatest always in the blog.
beware Girl with Putter

27.08.2002

feeling kinda how a girl feels

today was all kinds of frustrating. i've been trying to get one of our key apps up and running all week. there have been Complications. and it's not even as if i'm responsible for the app. i was, once, long ago, in another version. so pretty much, i've been shooting in the dark on this one.

not only that, but various people have been involved with only bits and parts of information passed along to them, so they haven't had the 20,000 foot view. i finally tried to put the whole picture together, as i had been invited to participate in a conference call to the help line, something i don't much like doing when i don't know what i'm talking about.

turns out, in the process of putting together the picture, i was well on my way with the diagnostics. the conference call still happened, which was mildly irritating, as it wasn't their issue. nor were they getting all the information, so even had it been their issue, i'm not sure they would have been much help.

does marching into someone's office with a golf putter in hand, to set the mood for a conversation, constitute a career limiting move?

funniest moment:

D: hey, come back here.

me: okay.

D: turn around.

me: okaaayyyy. (thinking, i know my ass looks good, but...)

D: don't get nervous.

me: (huh?)

D: (reaches over to pluck something off me)

me: oh, great. i'm covered in cat hair again, aren't i?

D: nope. (holds out long red hair)

me: lovely. i'm shedding.

D: you had a hair across your ass! feel better now?

(both collapse into fits of giggles)

me: (giggling) nah, but at least i'm amused.

seriously, you can't script moments like that. and that, boys and girls, is pretty much how my whole day went. soon after that, i left to decompress, and didn't come back until everyone else was gone. much easier to get things done when nobody hovers around your desk.

yesterday :: tomorrow

your moment of...
� 2000-2002 by eac. feel free to link to my site; if you do, please drop me a line.
ambience
listening to/watching: too many phones ringing
reading: installation manuals
random: leave a message. it's safer for both of us.

recently
*tap tap* hellooo?
i think i've been tricked
steely grey days
warm food for cold weather
the appeal of the broken boy

here
newest
older
blog
writing
about me
about them
sign
write
blogroll me
search

nearby
rings
burbs and cliques
links
goodies for you
goodies for me
clix
Technorati Profile

lingua franca

credit
host
gear
Template by: miz Graphics
current batch of pics by: Free Foto
Free JavaScripts provided by The JavaScript Source