the danish outpost
updated when time and inspiration allow. latest and greatest always in the blog.
kidneys and livers and meds - oh my.

17.09.2002

feeling kinda how a girl feels

the results aren't good.

stanzi came back yesterday looking a little better and happier; the vet had given her subcutaneous fluids.

subcu...wha?

her kidney values are fine. so the diet is doing what it should. but now her liver is failing.

or, maybe. the vet isn't sure. could be cancer, could be a cyst, could be... could be.

so my options are: oral meds which could control her ulcer, and allow her to eat and drink what she needs to. xray, which might show something. biopsy, which will be definitive, but invasive and expensive.

*weeping* i don't know what to do.

no - no, that's not true. i do know what to do. i just don't know if i can do it.

i can't put her thru invasive surgery that, at best, will tell me why she's dying.

i'll try the meds for a few days, and see what happens. hell, i've been thru chronic digestive issues. the meds helped me. maybe they'll help her? maybe.

so i'm off to find a baby doser, some Alternagel, and Pecid AC tablets.

yup, that's right. my cat is going to be taking Pepcid AC. and a chalky gel. by mouth. hoo boy, is she gonna be pissed off about that.

at least, i hope she's upset. because that would be a good sign, right?

*deep sigh* i'm just glad that she's home, and purring a bit, and sitting with me on the bed. i had to pick her up to get her there, but she's here, with me, for a little bit longer.

yesterday :: tomorrow

your moment of...
� 2000-2002 by eac. feel free to link to my site; if you do, please drop me a line.
ambience
listening to/watching: grey kitty purring
reading: some trashy mag
random: grey kitty is 14 years old.

recently
*tap tap* hellooo?
i think i've been tricked
steely grey days
warm food for cold weather
the appeal of the broken boy

here
newest
older
blog
writing
about me
about them
sign
write
blogroll me
search

nearby
rings
burbs and cliques
links
goodies for you
goodies for me
clix
Technorati Profile

lingua franca

credit
host
gear
Template by: miz Graphics
current batch of pics by: Free Foto
Free JavaScripts provided by The JavaScript Source